Connect with us


Many New Faces in Regional Committees

In the Picture: (L) Sunganani Mandala (CRVL Chairperson) - (R) Ronald Mwale (NRVL Chairperson)

There are new faces at the Northern Region Volleyball League (NRVL) and the Central Region Volleyball League (CRVL) following elections that took place on Saturday in Mzuzu and Lilongwe, respectively.

Ronald Mwale, who was Vice Chairperson to Kafumu Nkhoma in the past committee is now Chairperson for the Northern Region Volleyball League while Sunganani Mandala is the new Chairperson for the Central Region Volleyball Committee, replacing Robert White.

Mwale who holds a rich vast experience in volleyball as a player, referee and administrator, says he wants to see the league in the northern region more competitive and professional during his tenure of office. He disclosed his vision when he was elected with 14 votes against 7 of Temwanani Chavula in elections that were held at Katoto Primary School.

“I think the northern region volleyball family decided to give me this leadership role because I have always been very active in the game. I have supported a number of teams materially and mentally.

“My vision is to make NRVL more competitive and professional. This can only be achieved if we promote the game of volleyball from the grass root. I know it’s not that easy but through team work, it can be accomplished,” explained Mwale.

20 votes went to Aaron Manda as Vice Chairperson against 1 vote for Lameck Zgambo. Edward Mwale is the General Secretary after beating Ruth Kasambala by 12 votes against 9 while MIJ FM sports journalist Chifundo Zingunde is the Vice General Secretary after amassing 13 votes against 8 for Hawkings Kalambo.

Reignford Khunga is the Treasurer while Paul Chiumia and Catherine Nyamwera are Publicity Secretary and Vice Publicity Secretary, respectively.

Committee members are Francis Trueman Banda, Michael Majawa, Tapiwa Nundwe, George Namwera and Tikhala Chibwana.

In the central region, Violet Mganga was elected Vice Chairperson to Mandala. Sundu Mashunga is the General Secretary replacing Dr Tarsizio Chikaonda who did not contest and Allen Shawa is the Vice General Secretary.

Phillip Bwanali was elected Treasurer while Peter Phindile was elected Publicity Secretary. Committee members are Daff Nkhambule, Jeremiah Mtonga, Isaiah Kumwenda and George Sambo.

The Northern Region Volleyball League has Raiply Malawi Limited as its main sponsor while the Central Region Volleyball League is in a happy marriage with 23rd Century Systems as its main sponsor.


Click to comment

Leave your comment

More in General